Published: Mon, February 26, 2018
Global | By Craig Ferguson

Biennial Elections to the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) on March 23

Biennial Elections to the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) on March 23

BJP leaders said if the total NDA members following the polls are added to tallies of friendly parties like AIADMK, TRS, BJD and YSR, then they will have a majority in the 245-member House.

The BJP is all set to be the biggest gainer in the elections for Rajya Sabha membership.

In UP, where the maximum seats will fall vacant, the BJP expects to win at least nine.

In August 2017, the BJP already replaced Congress as the single-largest party in the Upper House with 58 seats as against the latter's 54 seats. Pollsters claim the current party-position in UP assembly, where the BJP holds over 2/3rd majority, with allows the saffron party to replace maximum among the incumbent lawmakers.

Elections for ten Rajya Sabha members from Uttar Pradesh, retiring in April, will be held on March 23. Fifty-eight Rajya Sabha seats will be falling vacant in April while a by-poll for a seat from Kerala will also be held on the same day.

The voting will take place on March 23, the EC said. Former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi on Sunday demanded that his party be allotted one RS seat in the upcoming elections failing which the party would not support the BJP-led coalition in the next one Lok Sabha and two Assembly bypolls.

The 73-year-old Manjhi, who is the only MLA of his party that is a partner of the ruling NDA, said on Sunday that he wants a Rajya Sabha seat to be allotted to a leader of his party. The retiring members are from Uttar Pradesh (10), Bihar and Maharashtra (6 each), Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal (5 each), Gujarat and Karnataka (5 each), Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Odisha and Rajasthan (3 each).

A senior Rajya Sabha member from Congress said, "In a state like Gujarat, BJP will lose a seat or two to us". The elections for these 59 seats, however, will change the composition of the house in their favour. 12th March would be the last date for filing of nominations by candidates to contest from these seats.

Like this: