Published: Fri, April 06, 2018
Sci-tech | By Spencer Schmidt

Spyro Reignited Trilogy swoops onto XB1, PS4 on September 21

Spyro Reignited Trilogy swoops onto XB1, PS4 on September 21

The announcement follows the commercial success of Crash Bandicoot: N. Sane Trilogy, which released past year on PlayStation 4, and is coming to PC, Switch, and Xbox One on July 10.

It's interesting that Activision has taken a different route with the release of this trilogy, as they decided to make the Crash remakes a timed PlayStation 4-exclusive.

The iconic purple dragon, Spyro, is back in a new dynamic gaming collection, Spyro Reignited Trilogy, arriving on September 21.

Toys for Bob's studio head Paul Yan and art director Josh Nadelberg could not comment on whether PC or Nintendo Switch versions of the game were being considered. After Activision remastered Crash Bandicoot past year (another nostalgia trip for gamers in their twenties and thirties), Spyro is an obvious follow-up.

Spyro Reignited Trilogy will be released for Xbox One and PS4.

The collection is being dubbed Spyro Reignited Trilogy and will be released on September 21st, 2018 for $39.99. It offers completely remade versions of the PSOne Spyro games, similarly to what the Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy did a year ago. Mario would likely come to mind for most, but Spyro the Dragon had a deep impact on my video game education.

Spyro Reignited Trilogy is now available for preorder and will cost $39.99 on both platforms.

Finally, in a move that will no doubt please diehard fans, Tom Kenny, who voiced Spyro in Ripto's Rage! and Year of the Dragon, will return in Spyro: Reignited Trilogy. The characters are creatively re-imagined with additional flair allowing fans to rekindle the fire with Spyro and his crew like never-before. Activision also promises "full analog stick support and smooth camera handling" so this will be a very smooth and modernized version of the classic platformers.

Check out Spyro Reignited Trilogy vs Original Spyro Comparison Screenshots below.

Like this: