Published: Thu, April 12, 2018
Global | By Craig Ferguson

MEP to field candidates for May 12 election to Karnataka Assembly

MEP to field candidates for May 12 election to Karnataka Assembly

Karnataka has turned into a three way contest between the JD (S), Congress and the BJP, though the last two have been targeting each other.

H. Duggappa, member of Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC), has urged Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and KPCC president G. Parameshwara to give top priority for loyal party workers when providing ticket to contest in the coming Assembly elections.

Ahead of the Karnataka polls, the Congress on Tuesday held a meeting of its screening committee and discussed the possible candidates for the May 12 polls, a party leader said in New Delhi. Meanwhile, the BJP, which has already announced its first list, is grappling with the dissenters.

With polls round the corner, national level politics will also have a bearing on Karnataka.

She said that the party had, both online and off line, received more than 5700 applications for candidature and a special committee has been formed to select the candidates. The meeting, official sources said, delineated on probable candidates for over 140 seats and the names of remaining candidates are likely to be announced soon.

The BJP has also fielded a number of candidates who have switched parties over the past year.

Karnataka BJP President and the party's CM candidate BS Yeddyurappa will contest from Shikaripura while B Sriramulu, the party MP from Ballari district will contest the Assembly polls and will be the party's candidate from Molakalmuru in Chitradurga district.

"Until now no CEC meeting has happened regarding the Karnataka Assembly Election", he added.

Like this: