Published: Sun, April 29, 2018
Sports | By Sarah Myers

The inside story for ICC scrapping the Champions Trophy

The inside story for ICC scrapping the Champions Trophy

After five days meeting of ICC, the chief of ICC Dave Richardson said that the whole members have shown their agreement on changing the champions trophy of 8 teams into T20 World Cup of 16 teams.

The International Cricket Council said Thursday it will kill off the Champions Trophy tournament and replace it with a world T20 championship that will be held every two years.

The next Champions Trophy "will be turned into a world T20 and that fits in with our strategy to use T20 as a way of growing the game", Richardson added.

Addressing a news conference after an ICC board meeting, Richardson said the punishments under its code of conduct for such misbehaviours were inadequate.

Meanwhile, an industry executive has said that there will be a clause in ICC media rights agreement, stressing on the fact that India will host the World T20 in 2021. There will be a 2019 and 2023 ODI World Cup, effectively scrapping the very concept of Champions Trophy, a tournament which was described as irrelevant by several critics given the presence of a full-fledged quadrennial World Cup. "So I don't think that's an issue", said Richardson. It was hard. "And don't forget a 13-team ODI league is a huge step in making sure the 50 over format has much more context going forward", the former Proteas keeper said. "Champions Trophy in a way was too similar to the World Cup, always quite hard to differentiate".

In a bid to globalize the T20 format, the worldwide governing body has introduced new minimum standards, making it as easy as possible for Members to play global cricket in a sustainable and affordable way.

The final structure of the FTP, which received unanimous backing, includes World Cups in 2019 and 2023, World T20s in 2020 and 2021, the World Test Championship across two cycles from 2019-21 and 2021-23, along with finals in 2021 and 2023, respectively. The ODI league will serve as a direct qualification competition for the World Cup and will run from 2020 to 2022.

The world's cricket governing body also agreed the process by which the ICC Chairman will be elected for the next two years from June when current chairman Shashank Manohar's first two-year term expires.

Like this: