Published: Wed, May 02, 2018
Sports | By Sarah Myers

IPL: CSK beat Delhi Daredevils by 13 runs

IPL: CSK beat Delhi Daredevils by 13 runs

Chennai Super Kings put a dent to any hopes Delhi Daredevils supporters may have had of a honeymoon period after the visitors were beaten by 13 runs in their Indian Premier League (IPL) game on Monday night. But those who watched the match will know that Delhi were nowhere in the match, despite having all the makings of a thriller. Maxwell's failure will hurt Delhi the most as their campaign is all but over.

Middle-order batsman Rishabh Pant (79 runs off 45 balls;) and Vijay Shankar (54 not out) were the only players who faced the Chennai bowlers valiantly but their innings went in vain as no other batter rose to the occasion and went back cheaply. Shane Watson and MS Dhoni both struck magnificent half-centuries to move CSK one step closer to securing a playoff berth.

With five wins in seven matches, Super Kings are now placed second while Daredevils continue to scrap the bottom despite a morale-boosting 55-run win over Kolkata Knight Riders.

Delhi Daredevils won the toss and opted to bowl. The opening pair of Watson and Faf du Plessis added 102 runs for the first wicket.

KM Asif picked up two wickets for CSK.

Pant began his innings with a six and a four off Watson to get going immediately, but was involved in an terrible mix-up with skipper Shreyas Iyer that accounted for the latter.

"I wanted to help the team in the previous games but to be able to play this innings against DD is a good confidence builder", Watson said at the post-match press conference. With the explosive batting line up that CSK possess and their ability to chase down nearly anything, it is a given that teams winning the toss would like not to give them this advantage.

Delhi Daredevils: Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Rishabh Pant, Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Trent Boult, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Liam Plunkett, Junior Dala.

The steely Pant was dismissed by South African fast bowler Lungi Ngidi, who recently rejoined the Chennai squad following the death of his father. Faf was the first one to depart at 33. In the same over, Dhoni slammed a 108-metre six, the second longest of this year's tournament.

Ambati Rayudu (41) continued his stellar IPL with another fine contribution that will do his push for a place in India's white ball squads no harm but it was the finish from Dhoni that powered CSK over the 200 mark yet again.

Like this: