Published: Sun, December 09, 2018
Sports | By Sarah Myers

Which School Has the Most Heisman Trophy Winners?

Which School Has the Most Heisman Trophy Winners?

The Heisman Trophy victor will be announced Saturday night, December 8 in New York City. It will be given out Saturday night in New York City. But right before the show started it was announced that Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

Murray lost out on the Maxwell award to Tagovailoa.

Murray won over Tagovailoa and Minshew for the O'Brien.

Haskins, a third-year sophomore, stepped in after the departure of a four-year starter and smashed Ohio State and Big Ten passing records. The Davey O'Brien Award honors the nation's top quarterback each year. Jackson won the Heisman that season.

The Walter Camp victor has won the Heisman the last five seasons.

Murray joins Baker Mayfield (2017), Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous AP Player of the Year winners from Oklahoma. Murray now holds the Football Bowl Subdivision (Division 1) record for best passer efficiency rating in a season.

Murray is the first FBS player to enter bowl season averaging at least 300.0 passing yards (311.8) and at least 60.0 rushing yards (68.6) per game.

But, after an electrifying season that saw Murray eviscerate opposing defenses on his way to becoming a Heisman Trophy finalist, the 21-year-old might be eyeing a more exclusive path. No other school has had more than two players win AP Player of the Year.

Tagovailoa picked up where he left off in the second half of last season's national championship game victory against Georgia to lead the top-ranked Crimson Tide back to the playoff. He went on to become one of three 4,000-yard passers in the nation and threw for 40 touchdowns.

Like this: